Hello Small Town GIS

fpparker

gO Member
Founding Member
Hello Everyone,

My name is Frank and I'm a recent graduate from South Dakota State. I studied both architecture and G.I.S. minor in Geography. I've been out of college one year, and have been put in charge of managing all GIS for an engineering firm of about 60. We have multiple offices across the state. Currently I'm in development of creating and marketing GIS strategies for small communities for infrastructure mangement, and local government collaboration between departments. Many times we go through and set up small to medium towns/cities on a basic GIS system so they can better manage infrastructure and collaborate easier between departments. Such as the Street Department sharing information with Planning to map a bike trail proposal. As I continue to grow, I'm hoping to learn from others in this forum.

Beyond being a spatial nerd, I love the outdoors and traveling! I hope to get to know more about you guys and this forum grows more and more. Oddly enough, I found this website testing out Sedimentary Data filtering through twitter with the #GIS.

Best of luck to everyone,

Frank

Philip

geospatial Online
Staff Member
gO Business
Business Rep
Founding Member
Hello, Frank! Thanks for joining gO and posting information about yourself.

It sounds like you have quite a job. When you first started in that position, was it a huge learning curve? Or did past experiences prepare you for it?

What software do you typically setup for town/city clients?

Thanks

OP
fpparker

fpparker

gO Member
Founding Member
Hey Phillip,

I leverage all ArcGIS online and offer to host their data, unless of course in bigger communities. Just depends on the level of integration they're trying to achieve. Small towns of 300-5,000 we can host that data. Now for large communities somebody probably already has the license and set-up.